Who We Are

Our Alberta Hands & Voices Board of Directors is a dynamic group of individuals who are passionate about supporting families of children who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Our directors include parents, professionals, and members of the Deaf/HoH community who are all focused on enabling DHH children to reach their highest potential!


President—Jennifer Magnusson

jenniferm-sqJennifer has been involved in Alberta Hands and Voices since moving to Alberta in 2014 from BC, where she worked with BC Hands and Voices. She and her husband, Chris, have one son, David, who is 9 years old and hard of hearing. Jennifer is working hard to build an active family network in the Edmonton area so kids who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing have a community of friends, mentors, and role models. As a teacher, Jennifer is also interested in educational advocacy and would love to see all Deaf/HoH children get all the support they need to be successful in school.  
jennifer@albertahandsandvoices.com


Vice President—Lindsay Cummings

Lindsay has been involved with Alberta Hands and Voices for the past four years and a board member since spring of 2016. Lindsay and her husband, Gord, adopted their youngest son in 2012 at age 4 who has bilateral Cochlear Implants. Lindsay works in the social services field with families who have children/youth with disabilities, has decent-ish ASL skills, enjoys cooking, reading, traveling and spending too much time with her cats. She is working to get the word out about Hands and Voices and enjoys connecting with others to help them advocate for their D/HOH children.
lindsay@albertahandsandvoices.com


Treasurer—Antony Chan

antony@albertahandsandvoices.com


Secretary—Jessi Sawatzky

jessi@albertahandsandvoices.com


Board Members

Jackie Whitelock—Communications Coordinator

jackieJackie was diagnosed with bilateral hearing loss at the age of two. Having seen some of the frustrations her parents encountered as she grew up, Jackie joined Alberta Hands and Voices in 2016 in an effort to provide support to other families struggling with similar issues. A self-proclaimed Disabilities advocate, Jackie works in the non profit sector, and enjoys trips to the dog park with her hearing ear dog, Felix, in her spare time.
communications@albertahandsandvoices.com


Kathi Osinchuk

kathi@albertahandsandvoices.com


Tanis Harty

tanis@albertahandsandvoices.com


Kelty Fisher

kelty@albertahandsandvoices.com


Sarah MacKay

edm-fundraising@albertahandsandvoices.com